top of page

3 Steps For a Simple But Effective Nighttime Skincare Routine

October 12th, 2022 By Peter Bialkowski



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVBcKsGKLYA&t=551s (My Nighttime Skincare Routine on a Budget)



By Peter Bialkowski


Everyone should have a skincare routine; Women, men, and everyone in between. Not only is it hygienic, but it is a form of self-care some people don't consider. When I began my skincare journey in 2019, I realized my favorite time of day was when I'd put my phone away, walk to the bathroom, and spend fifteen minutes to reflect on the day and feel completely refreshed. A lot of people see the thousands of online videos and tips and get totally overwhelmed. In reality, your skincare routine can seriously be two steps. But, today, we're going to be talking about three simple ways we can incorporate skincare into our everyday lives.


I'll sum up nighttime skincare in one word: Replenishing



Cleansing


This one is pretty self explanatory. You need to wash your face. I don't care how late you got home from the club. Take your makeup off. If you don't wear makeup, great. You should still be taking off that SPF. Our air is so polluted with gas and smoke, which gets all up in our pores. And, for the love of Pete, don't use a makeup wipe.


I personally use the Double Cleanse method (yes, it's technically another step). A lot of cleansers don't fully get into the pores and clean them out (and if they do in one try, they're probably too harsh). This method consists of starting with an oil or balm, which breaks down the oils on the skin (like dissolves like). Then, add water and finish the job with your normal cleanser. Poof - clean skin.


My current favorite products for this step include the Oat Cleansing Balm from the Inkey List and the standard Gel Cleanser from Curology.


Treatment


Treatment can be a little tricky. There are so many serums, exfoliators, and masks out there. Make sure to do your research on what your serums are actually doing to your face. It's important to remember the word for nighttime skincare; replenish. Our skin goes through a lot throughout the day, from the sun to pollution in the air. When we sleep, our skin is rebuilding itself. One way to help this process is to use gentle and hydrating serums to treat our skin. This can be an overnight mask or a simple serum. I often use hyaluronic acid, which draws in moisture from the air. This can also be a time to use your retinol or prescription products. Essentially, use this step as a way to speed up the recovery process.


My favorite nighttime serums are The Ordinary's Hyaluronic Acid serum and the Press Restart Retinol from Versed.


Moisturizer


As the last step, many have argued moisturizing as the most important. They practically seal the deal. If you google "how to prevent fine lines and wrinkles," the number one response you will find is to use a quality moisturizer. You don't need a whole lot - a little goes a long way. Anything with ceramide's is a plus (they help repair the skin barrier), and make sure to go fragrance free if your skin is sensitive. I love this step. It makes my skin so soft and supple.


My current favorite moisturizer is Trader Joe's Oil Free Fragrance Free Moisturizer.


All in all, skincare can be incredibly simple; Clean, treat, moisturize. Or, if you're a beginner, just the first and last step. Use this as a time to experiment and see what your skin likes. You don't have to break the bank to have healthy and beautiful skin, either. Go check out my tips for ways to have an effective skincare routine on a budget.


My skincare routines:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVBcKsGKLYA&t=551s


sources:



https://bsj.berkeley.edu/skincare-how-much-should-we-really-care/


Comments


IMG_8716 (1).heic

Thanks for reading! Wear your SPF:)

If you want to learn more about me, be sure to follow me on both of my Instagrams, TikToks, and YouTube channels!

Thanks for submitting!

Let the posts
come to you.

  • Personal
  • Music
  • Beauty/Skincare
  • Music
  • Beauty/Lifestyle
  • Music
bottom of page